Skip to content

2010: Ventoux looms…

January 4, 2010
by

Happy New Year! 2010’s arrived, which means I can now start talking about ‘this’ year’s ride rather than ‘next’ year’s, if you catch my drift. Alpe d’Huez, Lautaret, Galibier…Ventoux…it’s all bloody exciting. I’m also pleased that it looks like we’ll have about 16 riders this year. There were 10 in year one and 12 last year, so Les Veloistes Gentils has out-performed most national economies over the past couple of years. Gratifying.

Various levels of training seem to be on the go right now. Some of the guys have managed to maintain fitness from last year, others have, umm, let themselves go slightly and the rest of us are somewhere in the middle. I’ve been trying to lose a bit of weight. If last year’s ride taught me anything, it was that you want to be carrying as little extra bulk as possible up big hills. I can’t afford a new super-lightweight bike this year so will remain on my trusty Condor, so any weight reduction will need to come from my frame rather than the bike’s! It was going pretty well, though Christmas knocked me back a bit. Still, six months to go so I’m feeling fairly positive.

Can’t wait.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

